Skip to main content

Posts

Dortmund Hibernate - C J Sutton

My opinion
Wow, this is something very different to I have read before but I found it very entertaining.
I found that I enjoyed the plotline and Magnus and that this was held by the writing style which was easy to follow.
I would highly recommend this book to readers that would like something slightly different.

The blurb:
Psychologist Dr Magnus Paul is tasked with the patients of Dortmund Asylum – nine criminally insane souls hidden from the world due to the extremity of their acts. 

Magnus has six weeks to prove them sane for transfer to a maximum-security prison, or label them as incurable and recommend a death sentence under a new government act. 

As Magnus delves into the darkness of the incarcerated minds, his own sanity is challenged. Secrets squeeze through the cracks of the asylum, blurring the line between reality and nightmare, urging Magnus towards a new life of crime…

The rural western town of Dortmund and its inhabitants are the backdrop to the mayhem on the hill. 

It's Sile…
Recent posts

Smith - Stewart Giles

Unusually for me this isn't a new release, however a digital remaster of the original!

Closing this tour today, with Smith, which is a fantastic introduction to the Ds Jason Smith Series. The plotline is easy to follow but complex enough to keep you reading! I highly recommend this book ans cant wait to bring you the rest of the series!

SMITH (DS Jason Smith #1) by Stewart Giles
'The sleepy historical city of York is about to wake up'. 
It is Christmas Day in York. A woman is found dead in her bed. A suicide note is found on her chest. It reads ‘I am so sorry Martin’. Hours later the police are called to a house a few miles away. A mother and her daughter have been brutally attacked; the mother is dead and the daughter is barely alive. The father is found shaking uncontrollably in the corner of the room. He is covered in blood but he is unharmed. His name is Martin Willow.
Detective Sergeant Jason Smith is put in charge of the investigation. After reaching dead end after dea…

The Red Hand of Fury - R N Morris

After a few technical issues, I am closing the tour for this fantastic read.


I thoroughly enjoyed reading this, again this is another historical set murder mystery, but I loved every but of it. I found the plot and characters very believable and I quite liked the detective Quinn.

The prose I found easy to read, and it kept my attention. I would recommend this book to anyone that enjoys a good read particularly a good murder mystery.



The Red Hand of Fury London, June 1914. A young man is mauled to death at London Zoo after deliberately climbing into the bear pit. Shortly afterwards, another young man leaps to his death from the notorious Suicide Bridge. Two seemingly unconnected deaths – and yet there are similarities. Following a third attempted suicide, Detective Inspector Silas Quinn knows he must uncover the link between the three men if he is to discover what caused them to take their own lives. The one tangible piece of evidence is a card found in each of the victims’ possession, d…

The Road To Newgate - Kate Braithwate

I would like to thank, the author, publisher and Brook Cottage Books for my ARC in return for an unbiased review.

I found the writing style easy to read and i felt that the plotline was well developed and convincing. I enjoyed the characters too.

I woumd recommend this is readers that enjoy murder mystery especially and/or with a historical background.



Genre: Historical Fiction (crime/mystery) Release Date: 16th July 2018 Publisher: Crooked Cat Books What price justice? London 1678. Titus Oates, an unknown preacher, creates panic with wild stories of a Catholic uprising against Charles II. The murder of a prominent Protestant magistrate appears to confirm that the Popish Plot is real. Only Nathaniel Thompson, writer and Licenser of the Presses, instinctively doubts Oates’s revelations. Even his young wife, Anne, is not so sure. And neither know that their friend William Smith has personal history with Titus Oates. When Nathaniel takes a public stand, questioning the plot and Oates’s integri…

Speechless - Stephen Puleson

Today is my turn on the tour, and despite not being my first by Stephen, this is the first in series which I will be reviewing.

Things that I enjoyed about this book was the plot line, sounds obvious, but it was well developed and believable.

I found the book easy to read, and would highly recommend it.

Speechless
The body of a young Pole working in Cardiff is pulled from the River Taff. His tongue has been amputated in some sort of ritual. 

More murders in the Polish community take Inspector John Marco and his team into the East European immigrant community and the murky world of people trafficking. 

But what is it that links all the deaths together?

When the evidence points to one of the city’s criminal and the involvement of a gangster from Poland Marco faces the challenge of gathering evidence from a close knit and secretive community.

And why do the Polish Secret Service seem to be interested?

When Marco finds himself entangled emotionally its impossible for him to think clearly. In se…

Their Last Words - Stephen Parker

My turn to tell you how brilliant this book is! I must admit it's a bit got in places compared to some books I have read, but i think that's what makes it interesting.

I would definitely recommend this to readers that like their serial killers and brutal murders!

The book is easy to read and I found it difficult to put down!



THEIR LAST WORDS by Steve Parker

Discover a crime thriller full of shocking twists by one of the most exciting new authors you’ll read this year.

A VICTIM. A MUTILATED BODY. A SINGLE WORD.

A young woman is found dead on the streets of London. Her throat slashed, her body mutilated, and one word carved into her flesh: “DON’T.”

Detective Superintendent Ray Paterson is assigned to the case. Young, handsome, and from a well-off background, he’s tipped for the top. He joins a team based out of Bermondsey, South London. It’s meant to be a stepping stone to his next promotion, but this case will threaten to bring down his career and everything he thought he knew abou…

I never Lie by Jody Sabral

I never Lie by Jody Sabral

Release Date: 11th June 2018
Publisher: Canelo

Is she the next victim? Or is she the culprit…? Alex South is a high-functioning alcoholic who is teetering on the brink of oblivion. Her career as a television journalist is hanging by a thread since a drunken on-air rant. When a series of murders occur within a couple of miles of her East London home she is given another chance to prove her skill and report the unfolding events. She thinks she can control the drinking, but soon she finds gaping holes in her memory, and wakes to find she’s done things she can’t recall. As the story she’s covering starts to creep into her own life, is Alex a danger only to herself – or to others? This gripping psychological thriller is perfect for fans of Fiona Barton, B A Paris and Clare Mackintosh.
Where to buy: Amazon (UK) Kobo (UK) Google Books (UK) Apple Books (UK)
My opinion; Absolutely edge of the seat reading, I devoured this in one sitting as I could not put it down! I found th…