Skip to main content

MURDER OF THE BRIDE by Faith Martin

Really loving this series, this is the 3rd installment, another fantastic story! What I love about these Faith Martin books is the body is found early on, without much of the background, which is saved for later on in the book.  Cannot wait for the next installment!

MURDER OF THE BRIDE by Faith Martin

Looking for a brilliant best-selling murder mystery with a feisty female detective?
 
Then meet DI HILLARY GREENE, the police woman with a nose for the truth.
 
DI Hillary Greene is called out to attend a suspicious death at Three Oaks Farm in the picturesque village of Steeple Barton.
 
The large farmhouse is filled with music and revellers, but when she steps into the farm’s large cowshed, Hillary finds a dead bride. Dressed in a gorgeous and sumptuous white gown, the young, beautiful redhead had clearly been strangled.
 
But not everything is what it seems, and the victim turns out to be at the centre of a web of jealousy and intrigue in the close-knit village. Many of the villagers have a motive for murdering her but they’re not giving up their secrets easily.
 
Can Hillary discover the real reason for this brutal crime and cope with the spiralling revelations about her dead ex-husband?
 
This is a crime mystery full of well-observed characters, which will have you gripped from start to finish.
 
MURDER OF THE BRIDE is the third in a series of page-turning crime thrillers set in Oxfordshire. 
 
Perfect for fans of Agatha Christie, Colin Dexter, or Ruth Rendell.
 
THE LOCATION
North west Oxfordshire is farming country, and parts of it belong to the Cotswolds area of outstanding natural beauty. Here the river Cherwell wanders through buttercup-strewn water meadows, where both sheep, horses and cattle graze. Spotted with woodlands, meandering narrow country lanes, and home to re-introduced soaring red kites, buzzards and other abundant wildlife, its thatched cottages and ancient farmhouses could be featured on any number of chocolate boxes. But don’t be totally fooled — it’s very much a working environment, and farmers are out in all seasons, tending their crops and livestock. And under the bucolic surface, dark secrets lurk.
 
THE DETECTIVES
 
DI Hillary Greene
An attractive woman in her forties, Hillary Greene is a police officer of many years’ experience, and came up through the ranks. Consequently, she knows how the system works, and is fiercely loyal to the force without being blinkered to its faults. She is a long-standing friend of her immediate superior officer, 'Mellow' Mallow and enjoys a rather enigmatic relationship with the steely Superintendent Marcus Donleavy. Popular with the rank and file for her no-nonsense attitude and competence.
 
DCI Philip 'Mellow' Mallow
Mel appreciates Hillary's first-rate ability to solve her cases, and isn't happy about her harassment by the officers from York. Known for his sartorial elegance and laid-back manners, he has a sharp mind, and an eye for the ladies. A good friend and ally for Hillary in her recent tribulations, he's determined to keep his best investigator focused on the problems at hand.
 
PLEASE NOTE THIS IS A REVISED EDITION OF A BOOK FIRST PUBLISHED AS “NARROW IS THE WAY.”
 
DI HILLARY GREENE SERIES
BOOK 1: MURDER ON THE OXFORD CANAL
BOOK 2: MURDER AT THE UNIVERSITY
BOOK 3: MURDER OF THE BRIDE
MORE COMING SOON!

 

Author Bio

Faith Martin has been writing for over 25 years, in four genres and under four different pen names. She was born in Oxford and sets most of her crime novels within sight of the city of dreaming spires. A real nature lover and afficionado of the countryside, descriptions of wildlife and native flora often find their way into her manuscripts. Right now, JOFFE BOOKS are re-issuing the first eleven of the DI Hillary Greene novels in new updated editions! And the first of these, MURDER ON THE OXFORD CANAL is available now, with the others to very quickly follow.

Her romance novels, written under the name of Maxine Barry, are now available from Corazon Books. IMPOSTERS In PARADISE, and HEART OF FIRE are both out, and others will very quickly become available in the future.

Her first foray into writing ‘spooky’ crime, (and written under the pen name of Jessie Daniels) comes out in November 2017. THE LAVENDER LADY CASEFILE is published by Robert Hale, an imprint of Crowood Press.

As Joyce Cato, she writes more classically-inspired ‘proper’ whodunits. So if you like an amateur sleuth, plenty of clues and red herrings, plus a baffling murder mystery to solve, these are the books for you.

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Strategy - Anita Waller

I would like to thank Bloodhound Books for the review copy and for inviting me to be part of the tour. Here is my unbiased opinion of...Strategy - Anita WallerThis was a new author for me and I thoroughly enjoyed this book, however I couldn't help but feel I should have read 34 Days previously, as it may have filled in a few gaps... But that didn't deter my enjoyment.It kept me engaged and interested throughout and had a few twists on the way to keep you guessing.I will certainly be looking at her previous works. Book Description:How much can one family take?  Jenny Carbrook murdered three people to make it look as though there was a serial killer at work in Lincoln, when the only person she wanted to kill was Ray Carbrook, her father-in-law, who had raped her the week before her marriage to Mark, Ray’s son.  Jenny wrote letters detailing her crimes in order to protect everyone she loved, but was forced to go into hiding before retrieving the evidence against her. Not only did…

THE PERFECT MURDER - Stewart Giles

I'm closing the tour today and would like to thank Joffe Books and Jill for allowing me to read a copy in exchange for an unbiased opinion. 
And my opinion?
Another fantastic offering from Stewart Giles! If you she read The Beekeeper, read this, if you haven't, make sure you do. These are (fairly short) easy reading books, with a unsuspecting twist. Again I was surprised at the ending. What I enjoy most about these books are they are easy to read, with prose that flows well. The stories don't have too many complex sub plots, nothing to graphic about the deaths... (Although this one does contain harm to animals) I like the length on the story, as it's not drawn out, and there isn't any gap filling waffle.
THE PERFECT MURDER From #1 best-selling author Stewart Giles comes the new mystery set on the Cornish coast. Where the pretty villages and towns hold some very dark secrets.
COULD YOU COMMIT THE PERFECT MURDER? 
Two cats are found mutilated in the same town. Detec…

Brass in Pocket: Inspector Drake #1 by Stephen Puleston

Fantastic read. I've come to prefer the UK based books as they're easier to relate to... This is no exception. This was a relaunch and I have been so honoured to be part of the tour.Brass in Pocket: Inspector Drake #1 by Stephen PulestonIt is the middle of the night ...The road is deserted ...A killer is waiting ...Two traffic officers are killed on an isolated mountain pass in North Wales. Inspector Drake is called to the scene and quickly discovers a message left by the killer - traffic cones in the shape of a No 4.The killer starts sending the Wales Police Service lyrics from famous rock songs. Are they messages or is there some hidden meaning in them?Does it all mean more killings are likely? When a politician is killed Drake has his answer. And then the killer sends more song lyrics. Now Drake has to face the possibility of more deaths but with numbers dominating the case Drake has to face his own rituals and obsessions.Finally, when the killer threatens Drake and his fam…