Skip to main content

KILLER LIES by CHRIS COLLETT

Chugging along through the dense, dark early morning, Tim Leavis was counting off the days. It was less than a week now to the winter solstice, when they’d begin to lengthen again. Much as he liked his life, he’d never got used to these early winter starts, and this one was earlier than most, allowing him to feed the animals but still get back for a shower and breakfast before driving across to the village school in time to see Archie perform in the nativity play. The boy had been typecast as a shepherd, of course. Though pointing out the likely effects on the animal’s bodily functions had, at least, dissuaded Mrs Elliot from her romantic idea of having his son carry a new-born lamb across the stage.
Passing a local beauty spot, the powerful beams of the John Deere’s headlights picked up a small creature scuttling across the road, then glinted back at him, reflecting off something shiny; the radiator grille of a car parked in the layby. From what he could tell it was a big car; black, though Leavis didn’t immediately recognise the make. Someone else with an early start, or more likely returning late from some pre-Christmas revelry. The driver’s door hung open and Leavis smiled to himself. Not the first motorist to use the woods as a convenient convenience. Better be quick, mate; cold enough this morning to freeze your tadger off.
But when Leavis returned twenty minutes later, after depositing the hay in the sheep field, the vehicle was still there. Coming up behind the car this time, he could see that the boot was also open. The driver was crouching on the road behind the vehicle, peering underneath. Exhaust problems perhaps. Hoping that it wouldn’t take long, Leavis pulled his tractor into the layby to offer his assistance. That was when he realised that the figure wasn’t so much crouching as lying inanimate on the frozen ground, and suddenly more than the air felt chill.

Book Description


Do you love gripping police procedurals with great characters? 

Discover Detective Tom Mariner in this critically acclaimed series.

'Collett is a wonderful writer, subtle, clever, strong on atmosphere and character.’ Yorkshire Post

Just when DI Tom Mariner seems to be settling down with his new girlfriend . . . everything kicks off.

First, a badly decomposed body of a young woman is found in a Birmingham sewer. The police can’t identify her and dub her “Madeleine.” 

Then an important politician and his wife are shot on an isolated road.

And finally, a bomb explosion in the busy city kills 5 people, causing chaos and panic.

Can Detective Mariner and his team get to the bottom of crimes that will come very close to home for his team.
Mariner will need to bend the rules and risk everything to get to the truth. And in a thrilling conclusion, his own life will be at risk.

Discover an absorbing crime mystery full of stunning twists and turns.

Perfect for fans of Peter James, Ian Rankin and Peter Robinson. This is the third book in the DI MARINER SERIES, more books coming soon!


THE SETTING
Birmingham is a city of stark contrasts with a rich cultural and historical heritage. Playing a key role in the industrial revolution, it helped shape the nation’s manufacturing industry

But with its many green spaces, Birmingham also borders on the beautiful countryside of Worcestershire and Warwickshire, is just a few miles from Stratford on Avon and a short drive from the wild country of mid-Wales.

Birmingham’s population is large and ethnically diverse, and while urban regeneration has forged a modern and culturally vibrant city, the decaying remnants of the industrial past and 1960s concrete jungle give it a unique and gritty character; the dark underbelly policed by DI Tom Mariner and his team.


THE DETECTIVE
Detective Inspector Tom Mariner is, on the surface, an average dedicated policeman, but his experiences as a younger man have given him an insight into life on the dark side, and a clear sense of right and wrong. Mariner has little interest in material things. He lives in a modest canal-side cottage, enjoys the occasional (real) beer and game of dominoes and drives an old car. He is most at home in the outdoors, with an OS map and a compass, and in times of crisis, will take off and walk for miles in any weather.

THIS IS A REVISED EDITION OF A BOOK FIRST PUBLISHED AS “WRITTEN IN BLOOD.”




Author Bio

Chris Collett grew up in a Norfolk seaside town where she worked in a boarding house (now defunct) a local bakery (closed down) and a crisp factory (razed to the ground). Graduating in Liverpool, Chris has since taught children and adults with varying degrees of learning disability, including autism. She is now a university lecturer, with two grown up children, and lives in Birmingham; DI Tom Mariner's 'patch'. She has published short stories, teaches creative and crime writing and is a manuscript assessor for the Crime Writers Association.

The first five DI Tom Mariner books will be released in revised editions by Joffe Books in 2017/2018.

Links
Website:  www.chriscollettcrime.co.uk
Twitter: @crime_crow


Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Strategy - Anita Waller

I would like to thank Bloodhound Books for the review copy and for inviting me to be part of the tour. Here is my unbiased opinion of...Strategy - Anita WallerThis was a new author for me and I thoroughly enjoyed this book, however I couldn't help but feel I should have read 34 Days previously, as it may have filled in a few gaps... But that didn't deter my enjoyment.It kept me engaged and interested throughout and had a few twists on the way to keep you guessing.I will certainly be looking at her previous works. Book Description:How much can one family take?  Jenny Carbrook murdered three people to make it look as though there was a serial killer at work in Lincoln, when the only person she wanted to kill was Ray Carbrook, her father-in-law, who had raped her the week before her marriage to Mark, Ray’s son.  Jenny wrote letters detailing her crimes in order to protect everyone she loved, but was forced to go into hiding before retrieving the evidence against her. Not only did…

THE PERFECT MURDER - Stewart Giles

I'm closing the tour today and would like to thank Joffe Books and Jill for allowing me to read a copy in exchange for an unbiased opinion. 
And my opinion?
Another fantastic offering from Stewart Giles! If you she read The Beekeeper, read this, if you haven't, make sure you do. These are (fairly short) easy reading books, with a unsuspecting twist. Again I was surprised at the ending. What I enjoy most about these books are they are easy to read, with prose that flows well. The stories don't have too many complex sub plots, nothing to graphic about the deaths... (Although this one does contain harm to animals) I like the length on the story, as it's not drawn out, and there isn't any gap filling waffle.
THE PERFECT MURDER From #1 best-selling author Stewart Giles comes the new mystery set on the Cornish coast. Where the pretty villages and towns hold some very dark secrets.
COULD YOU COMMIT THE PERFECT MURDER? 
Two cats are found mutilated in the same town. Detec…

Brass in Pocket: Inspector Drake #1 by Stephen Puleston

Fantastic read. I've come to prefer the UK based books as they're easier to relate to... This is no exception. This was a relaunch and I have been so honoured to be part of the tour.Brass in Pocket: Inspector Drake #1 by Stephen PulestonIt is the middle of the night ...The road is deserted ...A killer is waiting ...Two traffic officers are killed on an isolated mountain pass in North Wales. Inspector Drake is called to the scene and quickly discovers a message left by the killer - traffic cones in the shape of a No 4.The killer starts sending the Wales Police Service lyrics from famous rock songs. Are they messages or is there some hidden meaning in them?Does it all mean more killings are likely? When a politician is killed Drake has his answer. And then the killer sends more song lyrics. Now Drake has to face the possibility of more deaths but with numbers dominating the case Drake has to face his own rituals and obsessions.Finally, when the killer threatens Drake and his fam…