Skip to main content

Murder in the Meadow - Faith Martin


MURDER IN THE MEADOW by Faith Martin

Looking for a brilliant best-selling murder mystery  with a feisty female detective?

Meet DI HILLARY GREENE, a policewoman struggling to save her career and catch criminals.

Wayne Sutton is found dead by a stream in a beautiful meadow. His head has been bashed in and a red paper heart left on his body. The handsome young artist had a reputation as a ladies’ man.

DI Hillary Greene discovers that there were many wealthy married women buying his paintings and taking ‘private’ art lesson from him.  It appears that several of them might have wanted him dead.

Hillary also has a new detective sergeant, Gemma Fordham. Seemingly efficient and pleasant, she harbours a secret agenda.

Can Hillary get to the bottom of a complex case involving jealousy, love, and cold-blooded murder?

This is a crime mystery full of well-observed characters, which will have you gripped from start to finish.

MURDER IN THE MEADOW  is the seventh in a series of page-turning crime thrillers set in Oxfordshire.
Perfect for fans of  Agatha Christie, Colin Dexter, or Ruth Rendell.

THE LOCATION
The pretty iron stone village of Deddington.  Not far from the market town of Banbury (noted for its famous Banbury Cross of the nursery rhyme “Ride a cock horse to Banbury Cross, to see a fine lady upon a white horse, with rings on her fingers and bells on her toes, she shall have music wherever she goes.”)  It has an attractive and unusual church, antique shop and hotel, and several pubs known locally for their cuisine.  Although not a tourist spot as such, it is a picturesque spot.  Water meadows, such as the one where the body is found, are a feature of valleys in the area, and regularly flood in the winter time, adding  nutrients to the soil, making them especially lovely in the spring and summer, when they can flower quite spectacularly.

THE DETECTIVES

DI Hillary Greene
An attractive woman in her forties, Hillary Greene is a police officer of many years’ experience, and came up through the ranks. Consequently, she knows how the system works, and is fiercely loyal to the force without being blinkered to its faults. She is a long-standing friend of her immediate superior officer, 'Mellow' Mallow and enjoys a rather enigmatic relationship with the steely Superintendent Marcus Donleavy. Popular with the rank and file for her no-nonsense attitude and competence.

DCI Philip 'Mellow' Mallow
Mel appreciates Hillary's first-rate ability to solve her cases, and isn't happy about her harassment by the officers from York. Known for his sartorial elegance and laid-back manners, he has a sharp mind, and an eye for the ladies. A good friend and ally for Hillary in her recent tribulations, he's determined to keep his best investigator focused on the problems at hand.

PLEASE NOTE THIS IS A REVISED EDITION OF A BOOK FIRST PUBLISHED AS “BESIDE A NARROW STREAM.”

DI HILLARY GREENE SERIES
BOOK 1: MURDER ON THE OXFORD CANAL
BOOK 2: MURDER AT THE UNIVERSITY
BOOK 3: MURDER OF THE BRIDE
BOOK 4: MURDER IN THE VILLAGE
BOOK 5: MURDER IN THE FAMILY
BOOK 6: MURDER AT HOME
BOOK 7: MURDER IN THE MEADOW
Books 8-11 coming soon!


MURDER IN THE MEADOW: 

I discovered the classic whodunnit in my late teens, when I first began reading Agatha Christie, and through her, all the other marvelous authors of the golden age of British crime writing.  Naturally the 'county house' and 'locked room' mysteries predominated.  And in most of them, the British countryside and 'Miss Marple'-style country village played a big part.   So when I came to thinking of a setting for my seventh DI Hillary Greene novel, I couldn't resist the allure of a totally rural setting.   Obviously, Hillary Greene is no Miss Marple!  But I enjoyed, very much, watching her negotiate Miss Marple territory in the 21st century, and questioning her suspects in houses and villages that could have featured in a BBC production of one of Poirot's cases!   Naturally, everything else about the plot-lines, the interplay between Hillary and various members of her team, and the prevading zeitgeist had to fit with the other novels in the series. And I only hope that Hillary's loyal readership find her latest case every bit as satisfying and intriguing as the earlier novels


AUTHOR BIO
Faith Martin has been writing for over 25 years, in four genres and under four different pen names. She was born in Oxford and sets most of her crime novels within sight of the city of dreaming spires. A real nature lover and afficionado of the countryside, descriptions of wildlife and native flora often find their way into her manuscripts. Right now, JOFFE BOOKS are re-issuing the first eleven of the DI Hillary Greene novels in new updated editions! And the first of these, MURDER ON THE OXFORD CANAL. MURDER AT THE UNIVERSITY, MURDER OF THE BRIDE, MURDER IN THE VILLAGE, MURDER IN THE FAMILY and MURDER AT HOME are available now. Books 8-11 coming soon!

Her romance novels, written under the name of Maxine Barry, are now available from Corazon Books. IMPOSTERS In PARADISE, and HEART OF FIRE are both out, and others will very quickly become available in the future.

Her first foray into writing 'spooky' crime, (and written under the pen name of Jessie Daniels) comes out in November 2017. THE LAVENDER LADY CASEFILE is published by Robert Hale, an imprint of Crowood Press.

As Joyce Cato, she writes more classically-inspired 'proper' whodunits. So if you like an amateur sleuth, plenty of clues and red herrings, plus a baffling murder mystery to solve, these are the books for you.


Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Strategy - Anita Waller

I would like to thank Bloodhound Books for the review copy and for inviting me to be part of the tour. Here is my unbiased opinion of...Strategy - Anita WallerThis was a new author for me and I thoroughly enjoyed this book, however I couldn't help but feel I should have read 34 Days previously, as it may have filled in a few gaps... But that didn't deter my enjoyment.It kept me engaged and interested throughout and had a few twists on the way to keep you guessing.I will certainly be looking at her previous works. Book Description:How much can one family take?  Jenny Carbrook murdered three people to make it look as though there was a serial killer at work in Lincoln, when the only person she wanted to kill was Ray Carbrook, her father-in-law, who had raped her the week before her marriage to Mark, Ray’s son.  Jenny wrote letters detailing her crimes in order to protect everyone she loved, but was forced to go into hiding before retrieving the evidence against her. Not only did…

THE PERFECT MURDER - Stewart Giles

I'm closing the tour today and would like to thank Joffe Books and Jill for allowing me to read a copy in exchange for an unbiased opinion. 
And my opinion?
Another fantastic offering from Stewart Giles! If you she read The Beekeeper, read this, if you haven't, make sure you do. These are (fairly short) easy reading books, with a unsuspecting twist. Again I was surprised at the ending. What I enjoy most about these books are they are easy to read, with prose that flows well. The stories don't have too many complex sub plots, nothing to graphic about the deaths... (Although this one does contain harm to animals) I like the length on the story, as it's not drawn out, and there isn't any gap filling waffle.
THE PERFECT MURDER From #1 best-selling author Stewart Giles comes the new mystery set on the Cornish coast. Where the pretty villages and towns hold some very dark secrets.
COULD YOU COMMIT THE PERFECT MURDER? 
Two cats are found mutilated in the same town. Detec…

Brass in Pocket: Inspector Drake #1 by Stephen Puleston

Fantastic read. I've come to prefer the UK based books as they're easier to relate to... This is no exception. This was a relaunch and I have been so honoured to be part of the tour.Brass in Pocket: Inspector Drake #1 by Stephen PulestonIt is the middle of the night ...The road is deserted ...A killer is waiting ...Two traffic officers are killed on an isolated mountain pass in North Wales. Inspector Drake is called to the scene and quickly discovers a message left by the killer - traffic cones in the shape of a No 4.The killer starts sending the Wales Police Service lyrics from famous rock songs. Are they messages or is there some hidden meaning in them?Does it all mean more killings are likely? When a politician is killed Drake has his answer. And then the killer sends more song lyrics. Now Drake has to face the possibility of more deaths but with numbers dominating the case Drake has to face his own rituals and obsessions.Finally, when the killer threatens Drake and his fam…