Skip to main content

Before I Found You - Daisy White



BEFORE I FOUND YOU by Daisy White

Do you love gripping mysteries? Then discover Ruby Baker, a young woman with a talent for uncovering the truth.
 
A child found alone on the beach.
 
A mother who served ten years for a crime she says she didn’t commit.
 
Ruby Baker is back with another seaside mystery. When she and her friends rescue a child from the beach in a storm, police are baffled. Nobody has reported a child missing, and the girl appears to be so traumatised that she is unable to speak.
 
In Johnny’s hairdressing salon, the notorious Beverly Collins makes an appointment with Ruby, but it soon becomes clear the woman wants more than a haircut.
 
Beverly has just been released from Holloway Prison after serving ten years for child cruelty. The body of her missing daughter was never found, but Beverly insists she is innocent, and she wants Ruby Baker’s Investigation Bureau to prove it.
 
This isn’t going to be an easy investigation. Opinion is divided on Beverly’s innocence. Reporters Kenny and James are keen to uncover a big story, while Ruby’s best friend, Mary, is distracted and struggling to deal with motherhood.
 
As Ruby tries to unravel the past, she discovers that Beverly Collins release seems to have triggered a bizarre chain of events.

Has she really been framed for her crime, and if so, where is her daughter Ella Collins now? And who is the mystery girl on the beach?
 
Discover a gripping new mystery writer today. Great for fans of Agatha Christie or LJ Ross.
 
This is the second book in a mystery series is set in 1960s Brighton, a tumultuous time of change and opportunity.
 
RUBY BAKER SERIES
Book 1: BEFORE I LEFT

Author Bio
Hi I’m Daisy White – mum, entrepreneur, and writer. I started off self-publishing, then signed YA series to two fabulous US publishers.

I’ve always wanted to write crime but none of my initial manuscripts were anywhere near good enough to show the world!

In 2016 I rewrote an earlier idea and entered it into the UK International Novel Writing Competition. It was long-listed and that gave me the confidence I needed to submit to publishers.

My second crime novel for Joffe Books, ‘Before I Found You’ is out Feb 2018, and my first story for younger children will be published in an anthology for Patchwork Raven later this year. I’m also finishing off a standalone thriller, which I’m really excited about!

As well as writing, I give talks, workshops and signings. Writing is an obsession, a compulsion and a love, but like most writers I also diversify to pay the bills!


Blog Q&A’s for ‘Before I Found You’. Part 1
  1. Where did you get the inspiration for ‘Before I Found You’?
I wanted to develop the characters further, but in way that delved deeper into certain personalities and their response to various challenges. A lot of my research comes from the three generations of family who lived in Brighton during the 40’s, 50’s and 60’s. The Stockers are entirely fictional, but again based on memories of various individuals. I liked the idea of a rather odd relationship between Stocker and his wife, versus the traditional views at the time.
Something that came through strongly in my research, and I wanted to convey in the book, was the support from family and friends, and the community spirit. Everyone had your back – unless you happened to be accused of murder of course.

  1. Why did you base the Ruby Baker Mysteries in the 1960’s?
I have grown up hearing stories of Brighton in the 40’s, 50’s and 60’s and was fascinated by the challenges of an age without technology as we know it. The role of women was hugely different, and in 1963, when the first two Ruby Baker books are set, things were changing. Mary, as a single mum, faces disapproval, but is absorbed into the salon ‘family’ once her circumstances become known.
I did a lot of research into clothes, social conditions, views and places of the time, but in all the books I am careful to keep most places fictional, unless they are the iconic pier, or Black Rock of course!
I was very lucky to be able to speak to a retired policewoman, who helped me with police procedures at the time, which of course were very different.

  1. ‘Before I Found You’ deals with Mary’s issues as a new mum. Was this hard to write about?
It was hard because ‘baby blues’ were considered to be normal, and our modern perception of PND just wasn’t recognised. Any depression or emotional struggles after having a baby was deemed to be ‘something you need to deal with’. My own grandmother, and my mother mentioned that there was no help available because you wouldn’t have asked!
I suffered from PND after the births of both my children, and I wanted to show Mary as a normal new mum, who didn’t have an easy first few months. She loves Summer, but doesn’t understand why she is finding motherhood so hard. Unlike Mary I am very lucky to live in an age where help is available, and I had a fantastic husband and family to support me.
Something that fascinated and terrified me in equal measures, was looking at records of births from the Workhouse in Brighton from the 40’s, and wondering just how many women who were deemed ‘lunatic’ were in fact new mums who just couldn’t cope.

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Strategy - Anita Waller

I would like to thank Bloodhound Books for the review copy and for inviting me to be part of the tour. Here is my unbiased opinion of...Strategy - Anita WallerThis was a new author for me and I thoroughly enjoyed this book, however I couldn't help but feel I should have read 34 Days previously, as it may have filled in a few gaps... But that didn't deter my enjoyment.It kept me engaged and interested throughout and had a few twists on the way to keep you guessing.I will certainly be looking at her previous works. Book Description:How much can one family take?  Jenny Carbrook murdered three people to make it look as though there was a serial killer at work in Lincoln, when the only person she wanted to kill was Ray Carbrook, her father-in-law, who had raped her the week before her marriage to Mark, Ray’s son.  Jenny wrote letters detailing her crimes in order to protect everyone she loved, but was forced to go into hiding before retrieving the evidence against her. Not only did…

THE PERFECT MURDER - Stewart Giles

I'm closing the tour today and would like to thank Joffe Books and Jill for allowing me to read a copy in exchange for an unbiased opinion. 
And my opinion?
Another fantastic offering from Stewart Giles! If you she read The Beekeeper, read this, if you haven't, make sure you do. These are (fairly short) easy reading books, with a unsuspecting twist. Again I was surprised at the ending. What I enjoy most about these books are they are easy to read, with prose that flows well. The stories don't have too many complex sub plots, nothing to graphic about the deaths... (Although this one does contain harm to animals) I like the length on the story, as it's not drawn out, and there isn't any gap filling waffle.
THE PERFECT MURDER From #1 best-selling author Stewart Giles comes the new mystery set on the Cornish coast. Where the pretty villages and towns hold some very dark secrets.
COULD YOU COMMIT THE PERFECT MURDER? 
Two cats are found mutilated in the same town. Detec…

Brass in Pocket: Inspector Drake #1 by Stephen Puleston

Fantastic read. I've come to prefer the UK based books as they're easier to relate to... This is no exception. This was a relaunch and I have been so honoured to be part of the tour.Brass in Pocket: Inspector Drake #1 by Stephen PulestonIt is the middle of the night ...The road is deserted ...A killer is waiting ...Two traffic officers are killed on an isolated mountain pass in North Wales. Inspector Drake is called to the scene and quickly discovers a message left by the killer - traffic cones in the shape of a No 4.The killer starts sending the Wales Police Service lyrics from famous rock songs. Are they messages or is there some hidden meaning in them?Does it all mean more killings are likely? When a politician is killed Drake has his answer. And then the killer sends more song lyrics. Now Drake has to face the possibility of more deaths but with numbers dominating the case Drake has to face his own rituals and obsessions.Finally, when the killer threatens Drake and his fam…