Skip to main content

Murder By Fire - Faith Martin

Phew, where did thst ending come from? Fantastic plot, easy to read want to find out what happened....

MURDER BY FIRE by Faith Martin.




Looking for a brilliant best-selling murder mystery with a feisty female detective?

Meet DI HILLARY GREENE, a policewoman struggling to save her career and catch criminals.

David Merchant’s body is found in a bonfire in his back garden. David was a publisher and devout Christian. Who would want to kill this seemingly very decent man?

DI Hillary Greene faces one of her most puzzling cases as she struggles to find anyone with a strong motive to kill the pious publisher.

Them, as Hillary unearths greedy business partners and an estranged son, her focus is diverted when a new team member is targeted by a vicious gang.

Hillary’s under massive pressure and will she finally crack? And if she does, where will she go from here?

This is a crime mystery full of well-observed characters, which will have you gripped from start to the absolutely heart-stopping conclusion.

MURDER BY FIRE is the tenth in a series of page-turning crime thrillers set in Oxfordshire.

Perfect for fans of Agatha Christie, Colin Dexter, or Ruth Rendell.


THE LOCATION
Kidlington itself, the home of Thames Valley Police HQ.  Almost regarded as a suburb of Oxford, there is some debate in Kidlington whether it is a town or a village! If it’s a village, it’s a very large one, with supermarkets, garages, plenty of pubs and a small shopping centre. It sits on a plain that was once devoted to farming, with several small satellite villages around it, such as Hampton Poyle and Yarnton. It also has a small airport, once known as Oxford Airport, but recently renamed to include London in the title!   

THE DETECTIVE
DI Hillary Greene
An attractive woman in her forties, Hillary Greene is a police officer of many years’ experience, and came up through the ranks. Consequently, she knows how the system works, and is fiercely loyal to the force without being blinkered to its faults. Popular with the rank and file for her no-nonsense attitude and competence.

PLEASE NOTE THIS IS A REVISED EDITION OF A BOOK FIRST PUBLISHED AS “A NARROW POINT OF VIEW.”

DI HILLARY GREENE SERIES
BOOK 1: MURDER ON THE OXFORD CANAL
BOOK 2: MURDER AT THE UNIVERSITY
BOOK 3: MURDER OF THE BRIDE
BOOK 4: MURDER IN THE VILLAGE
BOOK 5: MURDER IN THE FAMILY
BOOK 6: MURDER AT HOME
BOOK 7: MURDER IN THE MEADOW
BOOK 8: MURDER IN THE MANSION
BOOK 9: MURDER IN THE GARDEN
BOOK 10: MURDER BY FIRE

Books 11-17 coming soon!


Faith Martin has been writing for over 25 years, in four genres and under four different pen names. She was born in Oxford and sets most of her crime novels within sight of the city of dreaming spires. A real nature lover and afficionado of the countryside, descriptions of wildlife and native flora often find their way into her manuscripts. Right now, JOFFE BOOKS are re-issuing the DI Hillary Greene novels in new updated editions! The first 10 books in the series are available now.

Her romance novels, written under the name of Maxine Barry, are now available from Corazon Books. IMPOSTERS In PARADISE, and HEART OF FIRE are both out, and others will very quickly become available in the future.

Her first foray into writing 'spooky' crime, (and written under the pen name of Jessie Daniels) comes out in November 2017. THE LAVENDER LADY CASEFILE is published by Robert Hale, an imprint of Crowood Press.

As Joyce Cato, she writes more classically-inspired 'proper' whodunits. So if you like an amateur sleuth, plenty of clues and red herrings, plus a baffling murder mystery to solve, these are the books for you.


Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Strategy - Anita Waller

I would like to thank Bloodhound Books for the review copy and for inviting me to be part of the tour. Here is my unbiased opinion of...Strategy - Anita WallerThis was a new author for me and I thoroughly enjoyed this book, however I couldn't help but feel I should have read 34 Days previously, as it may have filled in a few gaps... But that didn't deter my enjoyment.It kept me engaged and interested throughout and had a few twists on the way to keep you guessing.I will certainly be looking at her previous works. Book Description:How much can one family take?  Jenny Carbrook murdered three people to make it look as though there was a serial killer at work in Lincoln, when the only person she wanted to kill was Ray Carbrook, her father-in-law, who had raped her the week before her marriage to Mark, Ray’s son.  Jenny wrote letters detailing her crimes in order to protect everyone she loved, but was forced to go into hiding before retrieving the evidence against her. Not only did…

THE PERFECT MURDER - Stewart Giles

I'm closing the tour today and would like to thank Joffe Books and Jill for allowing me to read a copy in exchange for an unbiased opinion. 
And my opinion?
Another fantastic offering from Stewart Giles! If you she read The Beekeeper, read this, if you haven't, make sure you do. These are (fairly short) easy reading books, with a unsuspecting twist. Again I was surprised at the ending. What I enjoy most about these books are they are easy to read, with prose that flows well. The stories don't have too many complex sub plots, nothing to graphic about the deaths... (Although this one does contain harm to animals) I like the length on the story, as it's not drawn out, and there isn't any gap filling waffle.
THE PERFECT MURDER From #1 best-selling author Stewart Giles comes the new mystery set on the Cornish coast. Where the pretty villages and towns hold some very dark secrets.
COULD YOU COMMIT THE PERFECT MURDER? 
Two cats are found mutilated in the same town. Detec…

Brass in Pocket: Inspector Drake #1 by Stephen Puleston

Fantastic read. I've come to prefer the UK based books as they're easier to relate to... This is no exception. This was a relaunch and I have been so honoured to be part of the tour.Brass in Pocket: Inspector Drake #1 by Stephen PulestonIt is the middle of the night ...The road is deserted ...A killer is waiting ...Two traffic officers are killed on an isolated mountain pass in North Wales. Inspector Drake is called to the scene and quickly discovers a message left by the killer - traffic cones in the shape of a No 4.The killer starts sending the Wales Police Service lyrics from famous rock songs. Are they messages or is there some hidden meaning in them?Does it all mean more killings are likely? When a politician is killed Drake has his answer. And then the killer sends more song lyrics. Now Drake has to face the possibility of more deaths but with numbers dominating the case Drake has to face his own rituals and obsessions.Finally, when the killer threatens Drake and his fam…