Posts

Leo and the Lightning Dragons- Gill White

Image
Blurb Everybody in the kingdom is supporting the brave knight Leo in his battle against his fearsome dragons. They try lots of different things to help him defeat them but eventually Leo realises that the most important thing to do is to believe in himself. This beautifully illustrated book with a poignant and uplifting rhyming story encourages children to persevere and find strength in the face of adversity, even when it seems that nothing is working. Written by Gill White for her son Leo who suffers from Ohtahara Syndrome, an extremely rare form of epilepsy, and beautifully illustrated by Fife artist Gilli B, this story has been positively received by parents of children with complex needs, by care workers and medical staff and by parents of healthy young children who love the book simply as an adventure story. All royalties from the sale of this book will go to CHAS (Children's Hospices across Scotland).

Buy Link https://amzn.to/2AWPWRw




@FledglingPress @leolightdragons‏ #Lovebooksgr…

Your Last Lie - Gretta Mulrooney

Image
YOUR LAST LIE (Tyrone Swift #6) by Gretta Mulrooney
Looking for your next unputdownable mystery? Meet Detective Tyrone Swift. He takes the cases that the police have given up on.

Pilot Greg Roscoe is found stabbed to death in his cockpit. His body has been mutilated.

Detective Tyrone Swift is hired by the pilot’s parents to investigate the death. Greg had a tangled personal life, with three wives and a history of adultery and risk-taking.

Who wanted him dead and why?

The prime suspect was cleared by the police but Swift quickly puts together a list of people with a motive to kill Greg. And then Swift gets information from the deceased man’s troubled teenage daughter that may unlock the puzzle.

Can Detective Tyrone Swift get to the bottom of this tangled web of lies? Discover the truth in this crime thriller full of twists and turns.

YOUR LAST LIE is a beautifully written mystery that will have you gripped from start to pulsating finish.

Perfect for fans of Robert Galbraith, P.D. James, or Rut…

Hunters Chase - Val Penny

Image
Blurb Hunter by name – Hunter by nature: DI Hunter Wilson will not rest until Edinburgh is safe.
Detective Inspector Hunter Wilson knows there is a new supply of cocaine flooding his city, and he needs to find the source, but his attention is transferred to murder when a corpse is discovered in the grounds of a golf course. 

Shortly after the post-mortem, Hunter witnesses a second murder, but that is not the end of the slaughter. With a young woman's life also hanging in the balance, the last thing Hunter needs is a new man on his team: Detective Constable Tim Myerscough, the son of his nemesis, the former Chief Constable Sir Peter Myerscough. 

Hunter's perseverance and patience are put to the test time after time in this first novel in The Edinburgh Crime Mysteries series.
Hunter's Chase - Synopsis
Hunter's Chase is a police procedural crime novel. It is set in Edinburgh, Scotland in November 2012. It is character driven. The central character is Detective Inspector Hunter …

The Blood of Kings - Angela King

Image
The Blurb:A gripping story of heartache and intrigue1559. A girl arrives in London to search for her brother. Aalia, an awkward, arrogant teenager plans to bring William to his senses, until she discovers that both their lives are based on a lie.     Aalia must unravels a web of secrets but has the weight of her past to contend with. Courageous and undisciplined, Aalia gradually comes to terms with the truth that William, her brother, has royal blood. Deciding to undermine the men who want to use him as a pawn, Aalia must negotiate a world where secrecy arms the powerful. But unwilling to ask for anyone’s help she is forced into making a fateful decision. Who can she trust when everyone around her is plotting? Is the truth really something worth dying for?  This epic story of secrets and betrayal paints a vivid picture of Elizabethan England and asks questions that span beyond the test of time.
The Extract: Torches flared as stragglers hiding from curfew joined them in the alley. Aalia…

A Rebel At Pennington’s - Rachel Brimble

Image
A Rebel At Pennington’sOne woman's journey to find herself and help secure the vote. Perfect for the fans of the TV series Mr Selfridge and The Paradise.
1911 Bath. Banished from her ancestral home, passionate suffrage campaigner, Esther Stanbury works as a window dresser in Pennington's Department Store. She has hopes and dreams for women's progression and will do anything to help secure the vote. 
Owner of the prestigious Phoenix Hotel, Lawrence Culford has what most would view as a successful life. But Lawrence is harbouring shame, resentment and an anger that threatens his future happiness. When Esther and Lawrence meet their mutual understanding of life's challenges unites them and they are drawn to the possibility of a life of love that neither thought existed. 
With the Coronation of King-Emperor George V looming, the atmosphere in Bath is building to fever pitch, as is the suffragists' determination to secure the vote. Will Esther's rebellious nature lead he…

MURDER IN THE MINE (Inspector Crow #5) by Roy Lewis

Image
MURDER IN THE MINE (Inspector Crow #5) by Roy Lewis
Looking for a classic murder mystery from an acclaimed crime writer? Discover Inspector Crow of Scotland Yard. Enjoy a beautifully told story from a time before smart phones and DNA testing. Full of twists and turns, this will have you gripped from start to finish. THIS BOOK WAS ORIGINALLY PUBLISHED AS “A QUESTION OF DEGREE.” “Roy Lewis can always be counted on for precise, original, interesting environment…yet his characters and settings always interact.” Financial Times A hunt for a missing dog leads to a gruesome discovery down a mineshaft. Not just the injured dog, but a valuable piece of jewellery . . . and the decaying corpse of a woman. Detective John Crow is called in to run the investigation in this South Wales mining community. He discovers flaws in the dog owner’s account and a visit to the north east of England reveals the dead woman’s identity. Then there is a surprise confession. But the skeletal Inspector Crow is not convinced…