Posts

Daisy Song (Life after Us #3) by Rebekah Dodson

Image
Daisy Song (Life after Us #3) by Rebekah Dodson

Review by Penny Buxton

This is a brilliant read that has you gripped from page one!

After the cliff hanger of the last book where Ambrose has left to find his way to rescue Vicki and Vicki is having pains from the pregnancy, I eagerly awaited the next book and wasn’t disappointed.

The story begins back with Vicki and follows her imprisoned and trying to escape and Ambrose as he fights on to rescue her, meeting many obstacles along the way. I found myself hating Vicki’s FiancĂ©, Will (The Supreme Leader) more as I read.

As the story goes on it is full of more twists and turns and I found myself emotionally connected to the characters more than I have in a book for a long time, the story progresses in ways I never expected and it had me gripped and needing to read on.

An absolutely brilliant conclusion to the series and an ending that I loved! Well worth a read!



Blurb
It wasn't supposed to be like this. Seven months ago, Vicki Morel was s…

Hunter's Revenge - Val Penny

Image
The Blurb
Hunter by name – Hunter by nature: DI Hunter Wilson will not rest until his friend’s death is avenged. 

DI Hunter Wilson is called to the scene of a murder. He is shocked to find the victim is his friend and colleague, George Reinbold. 

Who would want to harm the quiet, old man? Why was a book worth £23,000 delivered to him that morning? Why is the security in George's home so intense? 

Hunter must investigate his friend’s past as well as the present to identify George’s killer. 

When a new supply of cocaine from Peru floods HMP Edinburgh and the city, the courier leads Hunter to a criminal gang, but Hunter requires the help of his nemesis, the former Chief Constable, Sir Peter Myerscough, and local gangster, Ian Thomson, to make his case. 

Hunter’s perseverance and patience are put to the test time after time in this taut crime thriller.

Hunter’s Revenge is the second in Val Penny’s gripping crime series featuring DI Hunter Wilson.
An extract to wet your appetite:DCs Tim Myersc…

Leo and the Lightning Dragons- Gill White

Image
Blurb Everybody in the kingdom is supporting the brave knight Leo in his battle against his fearsome dragons. They try lots of different things to help him defeat them but eventually Leo realises that the most important thing to do is to believe in himself. This beautifully illustrated book with a poignant and uplifting rhyming story encourages children to persevere and find strength in the face of adversity, even when it seems that nothing is working. Written by Gill White for her son Leo who suffers from Ohtahara Syndrome, an extremely rare form of epilepsy, and beautifully illustrated by Fife artist Gilli B, this story has been positively received by parents of children with complex needs, by care workers and medical staff and by parents of healthy young children who love the book simply as an adventure story. All royalties from the sale of this book will go to CHAS (Children's Hospices across Scotland).

Buy Link https://amzn.to/2AWPWRw




@FledglingPress @leolightdragons‏ #Lovebooksgr…

Your Last Lie - Gretta Mulrooney

Image
YOUR LAST LIE (Tyrone Swift #6) by Gretta Mulrooney
Looking for your next unputdownable mystery? Meet Detective Tyrone Swift. He takes the cases that the police have given up on.

Pilot Greg Roscoe is found stabbed to death in his cockpit. His body has been mutilated.

Detective Tyrone Swift is hired by the pilot’s parents to investigate the death. Greg had a tangled personal life, with three wives and a history of adultery and risk-taking.

Who wanted him dead and why?

The prime suspect was cleared by the police but Swift quickly puts together a list of people with a motive to kill Greg. And then Swift gets information from the deceased man’s troubled teenage daughter that may unlock the puzzle.

Can Detective Tyrone Swift get to the bottom of this tangled web of lies? Discover the truth in this crime thriller full of twists and turns.

YOUR LAST LIE is a beautifully written mystery that will have you gripped from start to pulsating finish.

Perfect for fans of Robert Galbraith, P.D. James, or Rut…

Hunters Chase - Val Penny

Image
Blurb Hunter by name – Hunter by nature: DI Hunter Wilson will not rest until Edinburgh is safe.
Detective Inspector Hunter Wilson knows there is a new supply of cocaine flooding his city, and he needs to find the source, but his attention is transferred to murder when a corpse is discovered in the grounds of a golf course. 

Shortly after the post-mortem, Hunter witnesses a second murder, but that is not the end of the slaughter. With a young woman's life also hanging in the balance, the last thing Hunter needs is a new man on his team: Detective Constable Tim Myerscough, the son of his nemesis, the former Chief Constable Sir Peter Myerscough. 

Hunter's perseverance and patience are put to the test time after time in this first novel in The Edinburgh Crime Mysteries series.
Hunter's Chase - Synopsis
Hunter's Chase is a police procedural crime novel. It is set in Edinburgh, Scotland in November 2012. It is character driven. The central character is Detective Inspector Hunter …

The Blood of Kings - Angela King

Image
The Blurb:A gripping story of heartache and intrigue1559. A girl arrives in London to search for her brother. Aalia, an awkward, arrogant teenager plans to bring William to his senses, until she discovers that both their lives are based on a lie.     Aalia must unravels a web of secrets but has the weight of her past to contend with. Courageous and undisciplined, Aalia gradually comes to terms with the truth that William, her brother, has royal blood. Deciding to undermine the men who want to use him as a pawn, Aalia must negotiate a world where secrecy arms the powerful. But unwilling to ask for anyone’s help she is forced into making a fateful decision. Who can she trust when everyone around her is plotting? Is the truth really something worth dying for?  This epic story of secrets and betrayal paints a vivid picture of Elizabethan England and asks questions that span beyond the test of time.
The Extract: Torches flared as stragglers hiding from curfew joined them in the alley. Aalia…