Posts

Showing posts from July, 2017

Marked for Death - Matt Hilton

Image
This is a rollercoaster ride of a book, highly recommended 4 🌟 🌟 🌟🌟
Description Joe Hunter has been Marked for Death in his most explosive outing to date It should be a routine job. Joe Hunter and his associates are hired to provide security for an elite event in Miami. Wear a tux, stay professional, job done. But things go wrong. Hunter is drawn into what appears to be a domestic altercation. When he crosses the mysterious Mikhail however, he soon finds something altogether more sinister… Before long this chance encounter has serious repercussions for Hunter and his friends. Good people are being killed. On the run, in the line of fire, the clock is ticking. From the bars of Miami beach to car chases and superyacht grenade battles, bestseller Matt Hilton dials up the intensity in this rip-roaring, set-piece filled thriller perfect for fans of Lee Child, David Baldacci and Stephen Leather.

The Call - Corrina Edwards-Colledge

Image
This was the first short/novella that I have read. It's about 1 call the the stories behind all of those people who are linked to the call. I thought that  this was an interesting concept and it works really well.  This is a fab read that I read in one sitting...

Give Me The Child - Mel McGarth

Image
A massive thank you to HQ for allowing to be on tour with Mel McGarth and Give me the child.I absolutely loved this book, and was not able to put it down. From the opening chapter the twists starts and a massive bombshell is dropped on what seems the ideal couple... This book was a pleasure to read and I would certainly recommend it 4 star from me!

Here is the opening chapter as a  sample...


CHAPTER ONE


My first thought when the doorbell woke me was that someone had died. Most likely Michael Walsh. I turned onto my side, pulled at the outer corners of my eyes to rid them of the residue of sleep and blinked myself awake. It was impossible to tell if it was late or early, though the bedroom was as hot and muggy as it had been
when Tom and I had gone to bed. Tom was no longer beside me. Now I was alone.
We’d started drinking not long after Freya had gone upstairs. The
remains of a bottle of Pinot Grigio for me, a glass or two of red for Tom. (He always said white wine was for wom…

Beneath The Surface - Sibel Hodge

Image
Honestly, not what I expected, but then that wouldn't be fun... Excellent thriller, many twists that I wasn't expecting, a book that keeps you guessing... YOU NEED TO READ THIS...

The Upstairs Room - Kate Murray Browne

Image
I felt that this was slightly more of a paranormal than a thriller, but either way it certainly kept my interest and sent shivers down my spine! A quite intricate series of characters and relationships, which unfold, and there is no way of telling which way the book is going until the end. I read this in 2 days, as I was compelled to find out what happens.

Available at: Amazon.co.uk

The Chalky Sea - Claire Flynn

Dying Art - Malcolm Hollingdrake

Image
Book description: Following his recovery from a personal and professional trauma, Detective Chief Inspector Cyril Bennett has been declared medically fit to resume his police duties. He returns to discover a complex case involving the art world.
Soon Bennett unearths a dark side of the industry where greed, ambition and dubious practices thrive and, where there is money to be made, violence and murder are never far away.
Working their way through a maze of galleries, museums and the internet, Bennett’s team struggles to make sense of the evidence.
Can Bennett tell the difference between what is real and what is fake?
My Opinion: An absolutely sensational book, although this is part on a series, I read this as a standalone and don't feel that this affected the book, however I am definitely going to read the others!

Author bio: You could say that the writing was clearly written on the wall for anyone born in a library that they might aspire to be an author but to get to that point M…

End Game - Charlie Gallagher

Image
End Game
This was the most difficult book to write of the four part series. It’s the oldest idea in that I had this one in my mind before I started on the Langthorne Series, but the final book looks nothing like the original outline. Writing a series is both brilliant and damned difficult. The characters evolve naturally and you come to understand completely how they might react in any given situation. That then causes massive problems if you plan for a plot to go one way and then realise that your main character simply wouldn’t let that happen!
So that’s what happened with End Game. By the end of the third book George Elms couldn’t be the same man, he couldn’t be so committed, so likeable and he couldn’t think logically and straight. This actually made it really enjoyable to write! I felt like I was able to cut loose with George, he was working very much outside of the law at times and he makes mistakes, but readers who had followed the series would still be on his side. It’s good fu…

In Your Name - Rob Ashman

Image
Book Description: Police detective Lucas has become consumed with tracking down the deranged killer, known as Mechanic, and bringing the murderer to justice. Nothing else matters, not even his wife. His marriage is falling apart.
Mechanic has not killed for eight months and the trail has gone cold, then Lucas receives a terrifying letter. In a desperate bid to reignite the case, he tries to convince his boss to mount an operation in Baton Rouge where the letter was posted.
But was the letter really sent by Mechanic?
Not knowing where to turn, with his marriage in turmoil and his career on the rocks, Lucas begins to spiral out of control.
When Mechanic meets the head of a drug smuggling cartel the situation takes a grave turn.
Meanwhile, a bizarre set of murders are taking place in Vegas and Detective Rebecca Moran is put on the case. She will stop at nothing to make a name for herself.
Is there a link between the murders and Mechanic?
Can Lucas apprehend the killer this time or will …

Another literary talent lost...

The Second Captive - Maggie James

Image
The Second CaptiveMy opinions..
This is a compulsive read, that leaves you wanting more.  I was compelled to read this at any opportunity I had, and didn't take long to read, the prose flowed well and the storyline kept me wanting more.
Book Description:
Beth Sutton is eighteen years old when she is abducted. Held prisoner in a basement, she’s dependent on her captor for food, clothes and her very existence. As the months pass, her hatred towards her imprisoner changes to compassion.But Beth cannot forget that her abductor is also a killer. And she has evidence to prove it…Then Beth escapesCan Beth escape from the prison that she has found herself in?And is there a relationship between love and fear?Author Bio:Maggie James is a British author who lives in Bristol. She writes psychological suspense novels.Before turning her hand to writing, Maggie worked mainly as an accountant, with a diversion into practising as a nutritional therapist. Diet and health remain high on her list of int…

No Exit - Taylor Adams

Image
Today after some technical issues I am on tour with....NO EXIT BY TAYLORADAMS
My Opinion...This is a fantastic book, full of twists and turns! Very dark and I wasn't able to put it down once I had started it.  I won't comment on the storyline which is featured below...The official blurb....ONE OF THE TENSEST, MOST GRIPPING THRILLERS YOU WILL EVER READ. FROM TAYLOR ADAMS, UK AND US BEST-SELLING AUTHOR.A kidnapped little girl locked in a stranger's van. No help for miles. What would you do?Darby Thorne is a college student stranded by a blizzard at a highway rest stop in the middle of nowhere. She’s on the way home to see her sick mother. She’ll have to spend the night in the rest stop with four complete strangers. Then she stumbles across a little girl locked inside one of their parked cars.There is no cell phone reception, no telephone, no way out because of the snow, and she doesn’t know which one of the other travelers is the kidnapper.Full of shocking twists and turns, t…

Unethical Conduct - Arthur Cole & Nigel Williams

https://www.amazon.co.uk/review/R21AKIDFEEMPFY/ref=cm_cr_rdp_perm


Here is a review I have done for an author. Unfortunately there wasn't any pretty tour parafinalia, so I have just copied my Amazon.co.uk review.