Posts

Showing posts from June, 2018

Their Last Words - Stephen Parker

Image
My turn to tell you how brilliant this book is! I must admit it's a bit got in places compared to some books I have read, but i think that's what makes it interesting.

I would definitely recommend this to readers that like their serial killers and brutal murders!

The book is easy to read and I found it difficult to put down!



THEIR LAST WORDS by Steve Parker

Discover a crime thriller full of shocking twists by one of the most exciting new authors you’ll read this year.

A VICTIM. A MUTILATED BODY. A SINGLE WORD.

A young woman is found dead on the streets of London. Her throat slashed, her body mutilated, and one word carved into her flesh: “DON’T.”

Detective Superintendent Ray Paterson is assigned to the case. Young, handsome, and from a well-off background, he’s tipped for the top. He joins a team based out of Bermondsey, South London. It’s meant to be a stepping stone to his next promotion, but this case will threaten to bring down his career and everything he thought he knew abou…

I never Lie by Jody Sabral

Image
I never Lie by Jody Sabral

Release Date: 11th June 2018
Publisher: Canelo

Is she the next victim? Or is she the culprit…? Alex South is a high-functioning alcoholic who is teetering on the brink of oblivion. Her career as a television journalist is hanging by a thread since a drunken on-air rant. When a series of murders occur within a couple of miles of her East London home she is given another chance to prove her skill and report the unfolding events. She thinks she can control the drinking, but soon she finds gaping holes in her memory, and wakes to find she’s done things she can’t recall. As the story she’s covering starts to creep into her own life, is Alex a danger only to herself – or to others? This gripping psychological thriller is perfect for fans of Fiona Barton, B A Paris and Clare Mackintosh.
Where to buy: Amazon (UK) Kobo (UK) Google Books (UK) Apple Books (UK)
My opinion; Absolutely edge of the seat reading, I devoured this in one sitting as I could not put it down! I found th…

Kindred Spirits - Jennifer C Wilson

Image
Series: Kindred Spirits Genre: Paranormal Historical Fiction Release Date: 8th June 2018 Publisher: Crooked Cat Books On hallowed ground… With over three thousand burials and memorials, including seventeen monarchs, life for the ghostly community of Westminster Abbey was never going to be a quiet one. Add in some fiery Tudor tempers, and several centuries-old feuds, and things can only go one way: chaotic. Against the backdrop of England’s most important church, though, it isn't all tempers and tantrums. Poets' Corner hosts poetry battles and writing workshops, and close friendships form across the ages. With the arrival of Mary Queen of Scots, however, battle ensues. Will Queens Mary I and Elizabeth I ever find their common ground, and lasting peace? The bestselling Kindred Spirits series continues within the ancient walls of Westminster Abbey.

EXTRACT 1 Kindred Spirits: Westminster Abbey – Prologue“McGonagall!” Mary-Eleanor Bowes triumphantly held the small scrap of paper aloft. The s…

Murder of a Lover - Faith Martin

Image
I would like to thank Joffe Books, Faith and Jill for the opportunity to read this ARC and give you my honest and unbiased opinion of this novel.

Here we are at book 13, and yet another fantastic offering fron Faith and one of my favourite characters Hillary Greene.

There isn't much I can say about this, if you have read the previous books in the series you a not be disappointed and the writing style is as the others.

If you are new to this series, this (and all of the others) can be read as standalone novels. 

I consider this to be easy reading, the plotlines aren't complex, however they do keep your attention, and there are a few twists on the way even for the seasoned reader.

I would definitely recommend this to Faith fans and new readers alike.



Looking for a brilliant best-selling murder mystery with a feisty female detective? DETECTIVE HILLARY GREENE IS SOLVING THE COLD CASES NO ONE ELSE COULD CRACK. PLEASE NOTE THIS IS A REVISED EDITION OF A BOOK FIRST PUBLISHED AS “A N…

The Warrior With The Pierced Heart - Chris Bishop

Image
Here I am opening the tour with my blog #nopressure
Not much I can say about this book apart from I loved it! I found myself thrown into a Anglo Saxon world, the prose was so well written I actually thought I was there! Admittedly this is not an era of history i know that much about, and haven't read many books set in these times either, but I found it entertaining and more importantly believable. 

After reading this, I am off to obtain the first book, as I am actually missing it.

My recommendation.... Read It! It's fantastic!

The plotline....
Synopsis:
In the second book in the exciting and atmospheric Shadow of the Raven series we rejoin novice monk turned warrior, Matthew as he marches ahead of King Alfred, to Exeter to herald the King's triumphant return to the city, marking his great victory at Edington. It should have been a journey of just five or perhaps six days but, as Matthew is to find to his cost, in life the road you're given to travel is seldom what you wish f…

Dead Smart - Stephen Puleson

Image
Dead Smart Nobody can hide from the truth ... Eddie Westford is found dead outside the Cardiff City Football ground. His throat has been cut in a cold-blooded attack.  Inspector Marco discovers photographs of Westford sitting in various luxury cars and Westford’s connections with the organised hooligan gangs of Cardiff points to a connection with hardened criminals. Evidence suggesting Westford is a suspect in a drug related inquiry means that Marco faces having to transfer the investigation to another officer.  But Marco’s gut instinct believes that Westford’s death may be connected to some powerful people in Cardiff and he resists the attempts from his senior officer to have the murder case allocated to another officer. Marco embarks on a final last minute attempt to prove his theory with disastrous consequences before he finally identifies Westford’s killer.

 Starting at the beginning in a new to me series of books! Not sure what to say apart from a fantastic introduction! I'm not …

Phobia - Stewart Giles

Image
Phobia Book Description AN ESSENTIAL INTRODUCTION TO THE DS SMITH THRILLER SERIES.


Phobia is a series of five DS Jason Smith cases he worked on before we met him in the first book 'Smith'. We get insights into what moulded him into the Detective Sergeant we first get a glimpse of in 'Smith'. Smith quickly realizes that police work isn't always cut and dry. Justice is not always black and white; there are many shades of grey in between.


This I think is the perfect introduction to DS Smith, as this isn't the first book i read, II thin that it definitely builds on the character development! I would highly recommend this, especially to DS Smith Fans but also to short story lovers.
Stewart Giles – Author Bio
After reading English & Drama at three different English Universities and graduating from none of them, I set off travelling and finally ended up in South Africa, where I still live. I enjoy the serene life running a boat shop on the banks of the Vaal Dam. I came…